Unlimited fleet set for Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup

-A A +A
By Dave Taylor

The 2012 H1 Unlimited Air National Guard Series returns to Kentuckiana with a fleet of 12 Unlimited hydroplanes expected to challenge for the Lucas Oil Indiana Governor’s Cup this weekend.


This weekend’s event marks the 62nd running of the Governor’s Cup as the feature event of the Madison Regatta. The City of Madison begins its second century of hosting boat races with the 2012 event. Tradition says the first race on the waters separating Milton, Ky., and Madison, Ind., was a non-sanctioned event held in the summer of 1911.

Last year’s regatta was a tragic event in which three volunteers manning a course rescue boat were severely injured when the U-21 Lakeridge Paving hydroplane ran over their craft during the running of a preliminary heat.

Later, in the championship heat, Dave Villwock spun the Spirit of Qatar hydroplane while leading the race. Steve David, a split-second behind in second place in the City of Madison-owned Oh Boy! Oberto had no time to avoid colliding with the Qatar. The race was stopped, David was declared the winner while being taken to The King’s Daughters’ Hospital with bruised ribs. David’s injuries sidelined him from the Detroit race a week later.

Four past Madison winners are among the 12 drivers who will compete for the Governor’s Cup this weekend—three-time winner and defending champion Steve David aboard the U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto/Miss Madison, defending national champion and eight time Madison winner Dave Villwock in the U-1 Spirit of Qatar, 2005 winner J.W. Myers who will be driving the U-11 Miss Peters & May, and 1991 winner Norman Mark Evans who will be aboard the U-57 Formulaboats.com.

Also competing will be Jimmy Shane in the U-5 Graham Trucking, Jon Zimmerman in the U-9 Jones Racing, Cal Phipps driving the U-13 Tubby’s Grilled Subs, Kip Brown aboard the U-17 Miss Red Dot, Mike Webster in the U-22 Matrix Systems (formerly the U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto/Miss Madison), J. Michael Kelly in the U-37 Miss Beacon Plumbing, Scott Liddycoat in the 88 Degree Men, and Greg Hopp driving the Late Fred Leland’s U-100 Leland Unlimited.