Trimble among counties eligible for emergency loans due to flooding

-A A +A
By Special to The Banner

On May 4, President Barack Obama declared 14 Kentucky counties as disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that occurred from April 26, 2011, and continuing.

Those counties include: Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Fleming, Gallatin, Kenton, Lawrence, Morgan, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen and Washington.

As a result of the declaration, 29 Kentucky counties, including Trimble County, were named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for United States Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance pursuant to Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act.

Those counties are: Anderson, Bath, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Elliott, Franklin, Grant, Greenup, Harrison, Henry, Jefferson, Johnson, Lewis, Magoffin, Marion, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Nelson, Pendleton, Robertson, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Trimble and Wolfe.

EM loan applications for physical and production losses will be received through December 1, 2011, and applications pending on that date may be processed and completed. Farmers interested in applying for assistance may call the FSA state offices in Lexington at 859-224-7601.

Producers may apply for low-interest emergency (EM) loans in counties named as primary or contiguous under a disaster designation, according to the FSA.